Winning Social Security Disability Benefits When You Have Lupus


This guest blog is from the Chicago Social Security Disability Lawyers at Nash Disability Law.

Lupus is an autoimmune disease that can affect any part of your body. Suffering from chronic lupus can affect your day-to-day life in a major way. If it affects your ability to work, you may qualify for Social Security Disability benefits.

But winning disability benefits is never an easy task. You must prove that your lupus symptoms will prevent you from working for at least one year. On top of proving your disability, you have to deal with doctors, complicated laws and just trying to make ends meet in your life. If you do suffer from lupus and can’t work, you should contact a disability lawyer for help getting disability benefits

Proving You Have Lupus to the Social Security Administration
The Social Security Administration (SSA) includes lupus on its official listing of impairments. But to qualify as disabled, you must meet the following criteria:

1) Your lupus symptoms must affect at least two body systems or organs.
2) Your symptoms must include two of the following:
a. Exhaustion resulting in decreased mental or physical activity
b. Involuntary weight loss
c. Fever
d. Feelings of illness or discomfort leading to low physical or mental activity


1) Your symptoms are repeated and include at least two of the symptoms above and affect your:
a. Day-to-day life activities
b. Maintaining of social functionality
c. Completing tasks because you can’t keep focus
2) Your limitation must interfere with your ability to function on a variety of levels including, but not limited to, your job.

Proving anything to the SSA is complicated, but as you can see, lupus comes with its own set of rules. If you suffer from lupus and think you may qualify for disability benefits, it’s worthwhile for you to consult with a disability attorney to find out if you have a case.

Finding the Right Medical Evidence to Prove a Lupus Listing
To make sure you’ve been correctly diagnosed with lupus and that you “meet” the SSA’s listing requirements, the Administration follows the guidelines as outlined in the current Criteria for the Classification of Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, by the American College of Rheumatology.
These guidelines include 11 criteria used to determine if you have lupus. Of the 11, you must have four to receive a lupus diagnosis. These criteria include:

• Oral ulcers
• Photosensitivity
• Sersitis
• Renal Disorder
• Malar Rash
• Antinuclear Antibody
• Discoid Rash
• Arthritis
• Hematologic Disorder
• Neurologic Disorder
• Immunologic Disorder

You must prove you have four of these symptoms with proof from doctor evaluations, blood tests or other medical test as administered by a medical professional.
To help prove your lupus to SSA, consider working with a Social Security Disability attorney like the ones at Nash Disability Law in Chicago. To learn more, call 312-443-0900.

Hits : 1197

Let us know how bright you are; share your thoughts and shine!